DOGRI

PAPER I

HISTORY OF DOGRI LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

(Answers must be written in Dogri) Section

 \mathbf{A}

History of Dogri Language

- 1. Dogri language: Origin and development through different stages.
- 2. Linguistic boundaries of Dogri and its dialects.
- 3. Characteristic features of Dogri Language.
- 4. Structure of Dogri Langauge:
 - (a) Sound Structure:

Segmental: Vowels and Consonants

Non-segmental: Length, Stress, Nasalization, Tone and Junture.

- (b) Morphology of Dogri:
 - (i) Inflection Categories: Gender, Number, Case, Person, Tense and Voice.
 - (ii) Word Formation; use of prefixes, infixes and suffixes.
 - (iii) Vocabulary: tatsam, tadbhav, foreign and regional.
- (c) Sentence Structure; Major Sentence-types and their constituents, agreement and concord in Dogri syntax.
- 5. Dogri Language and Scripts: Dogre/Dogra Akkhar, Devanagari and Persia.

Section B

History of Dogri Language

- 1. A brief account of Pre-independence Dogri Literature: Poetry & Prose.
- 2. Development of modern Dogri Poetry and main trends in Dogri Poetry.
- 3. Development of Dogri short-story, main trends and prominent short-story writers.
- 4. Development of Dogri Novel, main trends and contribution of Dogri Novelists.
- 5. Development of Dogri Drama and contribution of prominent playwrights.
- 6. Development of Dogri Prose; Essays, Memoirs and travelogues.
- 7. An introduction to Dogri Folk Literature—Folk songs, Folk tales 7 Ballads.

PAPER-II

TEXTUAL CRITICISM OF DOGRI LITERATURE

(Answers must be written in Dogri) Section

A

Poetry

1. Azadi Paihle Di Dogri Kavita

The following poets:

Devi Ditta, Lakkhu, Ganga Ram, Ramdhan, Hardutt, Pahari Gandhi Baba Kanshi Ram &

Permanand Almast

2. Modern Dogri Poetry

Azadi Bad Di Dogri Kavita

The following poets:

Kishan Smailpuri, Tara Smailpuri, Mohan Lal Sapolia, Yash Sharma, K.S. Madhukar, Padma Sachdev, Jitendra Udhampuri, Charan Singh and Prakash Premi

3. Sheeraza Dogri Number 102, Ghazal Ank

The following poets:

Ram Lal Sharma, Ved Pal Deep, N.D. Jamwal, Shiv Ram Deep, Ashwini Magotra and Virendra Kesar

4. Sheeraza Dogri Number 147, Ghazal Ank

The following poets:

R.N. Shastri, Jitendra Udhampuri, Champa Sharma and Darshan Darshi.

- 5. Ramayan (Epic) by Shambhu Nath Sharma (up to Ayodhya Kand)
- 6. Veer Gulab (Khand Kavya) by Dinoo Bhai Pant.

Section B

Prose

1. Ajakani Dogri Kahani

The following Short Story Writers:

Madan Mohan Sharma, Narendra Khajuri and B.P. Sathe

2. Ajakani Dogri Kahani Part-II

The following Short Story Writers:

Ved Rahi, Narsingh Dev Jamwal, Om Goswami, Chahttrapal, Lalit Magotra, Chaman Arora and Ratan Kesar.

3. Khatha Kunj Bhag II

The following Story Writers:

Om Vidyarthi, Champa Sharma and Krishan Sharma.

- 4. Meel Patthar (collection of short stories) by Bandhu Sharma.
- 5. Kaiddi (Novel) by Desh Bandhu Dogra Nutan.
- 6. Nanga Rukkh (Novel) by O.P. Sharma Sarathi.
- 7. Nayaan (Drama) by Mohan Singh.
- 8. Satrang (A collection of one act plays).

The following play wrights:

Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Ram Nath Shastri, Jitendra Sharma, Lalit Magotra and Madan Mohan Sharma.

9. Dogri Lalit Nibandh

The following authors:

Vishwa Nath Khajuria, Narayan Mishra, Balkrishan Shastri, Shiv Nath, Shyam Lal Sharma,

Lakshmi Narayan, D.C. Prashant, Ved Ghai, Kunwar Viyogi.